post Sandy

No electricity. No power. I feel like I’ve gone back a thousand years and I haven’t noticed. Since when was writing notes by hand, reading books by candlelight/flashlight, or listening to a battery powered radio for entertainment the norm?

I hope everyone (wherever and whoever you are) is safe and sound, and stocked up on food and supplies. It’s sunshine and grey clouds in Jersey. From my seat, I see the long line of cars waiting to gas up at Hess, since it’s $3.19 and that’s the best deal around.  I’m in a McDonalds charging my laptop and getting internet connection, ignoring children’s screams and trying my best to focus on work.

Overall, it’s been an interesting week. Getting back from Niagara Falls on Monday at 7 p.m., right before the storm hit. There was electricity for 30 minutes before the power went out. Four freezing (that’s not even exaggerating it) nights with no heater, waking up to winter cold carpets, hardwood floors, and bathroom tiles – advantages of living on a third floor apartment and no firewood space. With no internet and power available, I’ve been forced to do as much work as I can during the day since I can’t avoid sleeping at 8; by then, it’s too dark. Raven-ebony black can’t compete with my eyes; unless there was light. I’ve been feeling frustrated at times since with all this free time on my hands, catching up on my readings and assignments would be a piece of cake – of course, with no power or internet, those thoughts and motivation are void.

This is the second hurricane I’ve experienced ever since I came to Jersey. I’m not becoming a fan of them (who would?), but in a way I’m almost accepting them as part of the life here on the East Coast. Eternal gratitude and appreciation goes to my mom who speed-grocery shopped at Shop Rite. I laughed so hard when she opened the pantry; it was stuffed to the brim with all my favorite  chips and cookies :’)

Not going to lie .. I kinda miss school. Or just being in Pace. I’ve gotten so used to waking up at 5 a.m. to take the train that I actually have been waking up at 5, and it’s so hard to go back to sleep. Then there’s the listlessness of staying at home, not going out to conserve gas, Raritan Bay is wrecked and getting cleaned up, and all the stores along Broadway are still closed. The mayor said we won’t get power back until Sunday evening, so here’s hoping a miracle will happen and we’ll get power back tomorrow instead.

I think the awesome thing about Sandy (or any natural disaster in general) is the way it brings people together. Call this cliche, but you know some cliches are true. When I finally opened my school email today, I was surprised and extremely touched by the number of emails from my professors asking how we (the students) were, and to contact them about any concerns – school or personal wise. I got emotional for a few seconds until I noticed the number of emails I had to respond to, so I went to work on that right away. But the same sentiment can also be said for Facebook – the virtual World Wide Web support is not unnoticed. I also know the last time I played board games with the fam. and had “story time” was when Hurricane Irene visited; and that was last August. So this “bringing people together” thing initiated by natural disasters is kinda good. Emphasis on “kinda” (since having flooding, destruction, no school, and delays isn’t so great after awhile).

While reading one of my books on human trafficking (for my Intro. to International Relations semester project), I came upon this quote by John Donne. I strongly believe that it is fitting for how every individual on earth is connected and affected by the world’s events.

“No man is an island, entire of itself; every man is a piece of the continent, a part of the main; if a clod be washed away by the sea, Europe is the less, as well as if a promontory were, as well as if a manor of thy friend’s or of thine own were; any man’s death diminishes me, because I am involved in mankind, and therefore never send to know for whom the bell tolls; it tolls for thee.”

Take care and keep your smile up, you are in my ♥ thoughts always.

2 responses to “post Sandy

  1. Down in Melbourne we do not get Hurricanes, so I cannot begin to imagine what hardships you are going through. However, I wish you all the best for the future and hope that you and your loved ones are safe.

Leave me a message :)

