“Welcome to New York City!”

HI ALL!

How is your day going? I hope you have all been relaxing and feeling well! :-)

I apologize for the lack of posts this past week. Orientation started last Wednesday and lasted up till Friday, so I’ve been adjusting my sleeping schedule to waking up super early to catch the 6:03 a.m. train. I commute with my Dad, so the experience isn’t that bad.  It’s also nice to have company since I’ve fallen asleep a few times and almost missed my stops.

Anyhoo … orientation. Those three days were some of the most hectic in my life, but they were so much fun! The first day was a half day introduction for international students, so that was filled with visa and immigration paper talk. It was a T.M.I. (too much information) kind of day, so a lot of students were zoning out or falling asleep. I met a few people who had literally just flown in from their native country (Panama, Korea, France, Burkina Faso, and so much more!) and arrived on the same morning of orientation; so I was surprised they showed up and I voiced my admiration for that. I honestly can’t imagine myself coming in the same day as orientation with my body clock telling me to go to bed.

The second and third day of orientation had a mixture of international and domestic students, so there was sooo much more people. Different languages were spoken from all areas of the room; parents voicing last minute concerns, students talking to one another and making introductions, orientation leaders scurrying back and forth with blue and yellow balloons, and various dialects accumulating into a collective murmur. I was one of the few people who arrived early, and I got to talk to some girls who came early as well. I found out one of them was also a commuter student, so YAY: future train buddies! It’s amazing how one moment you and another person go from total strangers to friends in a matter of minutes.

Throughout the next two days, I also got to bond with other fellow students, but two in particular: Vato from Georgia and Apoorva from India.  We’ve had endless conversations about some of the most random things. To spill everything would be divulging too much personal history; and of course, what happened at orientation, stays at orientation (;

It’s almost time for me to go soon and enjoy the last few precious hours of summer couch potato-ing; but here are some photos I took during and after orientation:

Kristina P. and I at our high school’s Welcome Freshman BBQ. Both our brothers are in the same year! We both came at around the same time, and it was so nice seeing each other before school started. Plus I have a special bond with Kristina since she was my first friend at CMHS when I transferred in last year =)

standing across from the school in the wee hours of the morning

the feeling of ‘almost’ brand new shoes

“I wonder what his next move is?”

Love is free, but lacking.

heartbreaking.

a worried Vato

sun scorched wanderers on the Brooklyn Bridge

an asymmetrical flow

shirts being sold on the Brooklyn Bridge

“…there’s so much beauty in the world. Sometimes I feel like I’m seeing it all at once and it’s too much. My heart fills up like a balloon that’s about to burst. And then I remember to relax, and stop trying to hold on to it, and then it flows through me like rain and I can’t feel anything but gratitude for every single moment of my stupid little life.” — American Beauty

Thanks for reading, take care lovelies <3

Leave me a message :)

