coming home

my brother and I bonding on the car ride to the Philadelphia International Airport

Hi everyone, Happy Thursday! Just one more day till Friday and then it’s the weekend. I hope you had a cozy 4th of July celebration with the fam and that you’re fully (or somewhat) rested for going back to work today :)

Yesterday the fam and I took a mini road trip to Pennsylvania to pick up our grandfather from the Philadelphia International Airport. We did some groceries and ate lunch before leaving, so it was nice to getting those things out of the way. For lunch we went to Burger King and I got really happy when I found out they were still serving breakfast items (it was only 11 o’clock). I LOVE breakfast sandwiches, and I honestly wish breakfast items were served anytime and anywhere. My obsession over breakfast food must be why I love IHOP and other diner places so much.

We got to the airport way ahead of schedule so Dad took us to the King of Prussia Mall. It was my first time going there, and I was in awe of all the shops there. I finally (and for the first time) ventured into Sephora, and I now understand why all my friends love the make-up there so  much. All the color, glitter, gloss, blush, and metallics can win their way into a girl’s heart. I have makeup essentials but I rarely use them – I prefer the natural look (and I have this terrible fear of eyelash curlers and any eye make-up products, haha).

The fam and I got back to the airport on time. We met up with my aunt, uncle, and cousin who live in South Jersey so that was another mini reunion. Waiting for my grandfather was a bit tense and nerve-wracking since he missed the flight he was supposed to come on, and he had to wait two hours for the next one. But the wait was worth it, since it was extremely heartwarming seeing my mom and aunt run to my grandfather and hug him after four years of not having seen him. Lolo (“grandfather” in Filipino) still looks the same as he did before – just a bit less hair and a slower speed while walking.

With all the activity that happened after picking up Lolo, the fam and I got home at 2 a.m. and immediately went to bed. I woke up to english muffins spread with blueberry jam and a cup of milk and a glass of orange juice yum yum. Then came the opening of gifts from our relatives in the Philippines, and the squeals of delight my brother and I had over getting our desired items. In a way, it was almost like a second Christmas.

pens from my Ninang Evelyn that remind me of my cousins Raphnee and Maikee

Another highlight of the day was that Call It Spring sent another email about their final blowout sale, and this time I finally purchased the tall Loehr boots I’ve had my eye on.

7 days till I get these lovelies in my mailbox!

I can’t wait to start stomping around New York in these! Anyhoo, the heat in New Jersey is hot and incredibly muggy. I have to get to work now (sigh), but I’ll post more soon. Keep cool and enjoy the sun!

Leave me a message :)

