butterfly fly away

Words are either the most deadliest of weapons or the most effective means of making a person happy.

I got home late today from Father’s Day celebrations. I checked my email, and the first thing I saw was a message from a close friend. This close friend of mine sent five words that immediately instigated a happiness level beyond outer space and set my mood for the rest of evening. Mundane tasks which normally drown me into boredom soon sparkled with effervescent shine.

I wonder what the world would be like without words. Communication would only be through sight and sound; multiple hand gestures would be used. The importance of visual imagery would also impact the number of people who appreciate art – since without words, people would be forced to rely on their senses and come up with ways to express their thoughts. There would be added emphasis on line, shape, form; also on discerning between different sounds and developing mental ties to instinct and intuition. Art would take on a new meaning and a new level of appreciation; it would escalate beyond perceptions of “I’m-not-creative-because-I-can’t-draw” – instead, it would take on the challenge of overcoming that way of thinking and instilling a sense of calm into doing whatever possible with the available resources. I guess the main thing I wanted to say is that people would realize that art is life and life is art: multiple art forms coalesce within the humdrums of mainstream society, and one cannot co-exist without the other. I mean, cave men and cave women communicated through guttural sounds, frustrated or impatient mimed hand gestures, and through the raw beauty of cave paintings. And they were able to able to survive and pass on their message s to each other. I applaud them for existing in an age where technology was not omnipresent and non-existent – those cave men and women have my ultimate respect.

Anyway … enough with the musing. I’m just really happy with the message my friend sent me, hehe.

Happy Father’s Day to all the fathers and grandfathers out there! A shout out to my Dad who’s put up with our disagreements and silly moments that make up my life today.  Despite my strong (very strong!) dislike for all the annoying nicknames you make for me, I love you Daddy. You push me to the limit for almost everything but I know it’s because you want me to be the best I can be. Thanks for everything!

(That awkward moment when you want to post a photo of you and your Dad and then you realize that you can’t find a photo because the two of you never took one …)

I hope you had a wonderful day with your Dad today :)

Leave me a message :)

